The 2023 Rugby World Cup fixtures will run from Friday 8 September to Saturday 28 October, with matches played across France.

It’s already shaping up to be a fascinating event, with Ireland Grand Slam champions and world No 1, but hosts France still Rugby World Cup favourites with the bookies. South Africa will defend their title after beating England 32-12 in the 2019 final in Japan and three-time winners New Zealand will fancy their chances too.

Romania have replaced Spain in Pool B after the latter’s appeal against their disqualification was dismissed in June 2022. Spain fielded an ineligible player during qualification.

Namibia secured their place at a seventh successive World Cup by beating Kenya 36-0 in the final of the Rugby Africa Cup in Aix-en-Provence. They take their place in Pool A.

Chile will compete at their first-ever Rugby World Cup after beating the USA over two legs to qualify as Americas Two and take the final spot in Pool D, while Tonga completed Pool B by beating Hong Kong 44-22 in the Asia Pacific One play-off.

And finally, Portugal qualified for Rugby World Cup 2023 after defeating USA in a two-legged showdown. They are in Pool C.

Learn all about rugby vocab in French and how to survive in France while attending the games!

Alliance Française in Southern Africa offers a 10 hour online French course special Rugby World Cup.


Choose the best option for you.

OPTION 1 : 5 – 19 June
Mondays + Wednesdays, 5:30pm – 7:30pm

19 July – 2 August
Mondays + Wednesdays, 5:30pm – 7:30pm

14 – 28 August
Mondays + Wednesdays, 5:30pm – 7:30pm

Choose the Alliance of your choice and sign up today